"Handing" of doors, very basic question.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Richard_C

Established Member
Reaction score
I was about to order a new ledged and braced Suffolk style door for the side door of my garage, the one on there is gently rotting after 35 years. Its an odd size, but having found the almost-right size which can be trimmed within the max-min recommended by the supplier the website asked me left hung or right hung, with no helpful guidance. I'm sure there is a simple rule but I've never done this before.

If I stand outside, the hinges are on the right.
If I stand inside the hinges are on the left.

So which is it?

The reason they ask is because the braces must have the bottom at the hinge side in order to actually brace against gravity.
The side that matters is the brace side which would to my mind be the inside of the door. Maybe take a picture and send them that to confirm everyone is on the same page.

Ollie

Face the door ready to open away from you.
Open it and if it swings away in a clockwise direction (hinges on your right side) it's right hand.
Open and it swings away from you anti-clockwise (hinges to your left side), it's left hung.
There other ways of working out a door's handedness, but that's the way I do it.

That's the basics, but it can get a bit more complex if you need to order an entry door and frame and you have to specify 'inswing' or 'outswing'. There's a bit more at this link. Slainte.

Last edited:
Agree with Olly. For a ledged and braced door the brace should run from the edge opposite the hinge to the hinge edge. The ledges will be inside the door so you’ll be viewing the door from outside, so your door will be hung on the right.

For a ledged and braced door the brace should run from the edge opposite the hinge to the hinge edge.