Green oak garden table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kipper

Reaction score
I picked up these green oak slices at my local arboretum and would like to make a garden table from them, impulse buy:) I have no woodworking experience or knowledge of what to do with the oak except from some research on the Internet and findings seem to vary.

I would like to keep them fairly rustic but would like to sand the tops to bring the grain out then oil with Tung oil to maintain the appearance. From my research I also understand they will probably weather regardless of what I treat them with. I have already treated them with Barrettine premier wood preservative and have some Tung oil although haven’t applied any yet. I am going to try and find a couple of stumps for legs (two tables will sit next to each other to form a figure of 8) otherwise I may make some legs.

I tried to sand the tops with an orbital sander and 80 grit pads over the weekend but didn't get very far, the pads didn’t remove enough material. I am guessing the wood still contains too much moisture and clogging the pads. This leads me to my first question:

Would I have more success using a plane or another tool to flatten the top slightly then finishing with a sander?

Should I avoid working the wood completely for the time being (I read it is easier to work green) and season it, if so for how long?

How should I store it, currently the slices are sat on fence posts and wrapped in a tarp?

The garden is fairly exposed to the elements.

Please see attached images.

Thanks

Attachments

• 20161030_150548.jpg
    20161030_150548.jpg
    172.4 KB · Views: 128
  • 20161027_174433.jpg
    20161027_174433.jpg
    97.1 KB · Views: 128
  • 20161027_174441.jpg
    20161027_174441.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 128
  • 20161027_174450.jpg
    20161027_174450.jpg
    105.1 KB · Views: 128