Grain orientation of wedges

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

memzey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I’m making a coffee table for SWMBO and would like to use wedged through tenons for one aspect of it. I’ve never done these before so would welcome any advice but the thing that I’m looking for specific guidance on is regards the wedges. I’m using contrasting wood in ABW for the tenon and oak for the rail it’s going into and would like to use oak or another light coloured wood for the wedges. So here is my concern: if I orient the wedges so that the visible ends are long grain, I think I end up with a lot of end grain in the joint. If I have the end grain visible, the glue surfaces are long grain to long grain but the wedges will appear darker once a finish is applied, spoiling the contrast somewhat. Any advice on this or am I over thinking it?

Thanks in advance all!

You need to have end grain exposed on the end as the wedge would more than likely break if driving it in in any other orientation. Yes it will darken more so chose your contrast wood allowing for this.

I assume you mean African Blackwood ABW? tennon going into oak? or am i being especially dense?

Contrast/timber choice aside accurate production of the wedges driven into the same depth is necessary to achieve the right look as this sort of detail screams out otherwise,
I think both David Charlesworth (check out his benches for through tenon with contrasting wedges)and David Baron have both done articles/ videos respectively.
Apologies if i am barking up the wrong dog

But seriously a quick small scale sample joint would give you all the feedback you need, then if necessary post a photo of it here if you are still undecided to get more directed feedback

All the best Edd