Getting paid to work on your own home

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Setch

Established Member
Reaction score
I am a self employed carpenter/ handyman, and live with my wife and two children.

I have been renovating my bathroom over the last couple of years, doing work sporadically around customer jobs, childcare needs etc.

Recently my wife decided (not unreasonably) that this had been going on long enough, and I should focus on the bathroom full-time until it's finished.

This raises a question to which I can't find a satisfactory answer. Can my wife pay me to work on my own home? Were I not doing the work we would have to pay somebody else to do it, and if I someone was doing it, I would be out working, earning part of the money to pay them.

My reason for considering this it is to ensure my earnings don't fall below a certain threshold which entitles me to tax relief on my pension.

My worry is that this will somehow fall foul of the taxman, even though everything appears to be (and is intended to be) on the straight and narrow.

Any thoughts, or even better, experience amoung the forumites?

Last edited:
Ask the tax office. They are normally very helpful, assuming you can ever get anyone to speak to. Tell them the reason for doing it. I always found it's best to be 100% up front with them.

I guess you need to weigh up the extra tax due on the income paid to you by your wife compared to the loss of tax relief on your pension contributions.

I am a self employed carpenter/ handyman, and live with my wife and two children.

I have been renovating my bathroom over the last couple of years, doing work sporadically around customer jobs, childcare needs etc.

Recently my wife decided (not unreasonably) that this had been going on long enough, and I should focus on the bathroom full-time until it's finished.