furniture and cabinetmaking

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnnyb

Established Member
Reaction score
just picked up a double deal(241)
of this mag. what's happened? it's pure cod. and I can't get my money back!
fine woodworking is no longer sold through third party sellers so I got my refund and tried this!

I think it accurately reflects what people want to read, based on what you see being popular on forums, YouTube etc… there’s not a lot of content of people making unique furniture, but if you want another mid-quality shed, the world’s your oyster.

I have a subscription to The Woodworker magazine (previously Good Woodworking), every time it turns up I tell myself I must remember to cancel it but then never get around to it, takes about 5 mins to read any interesting bits then I never look at it again.

I've loved fine woodworking for many years. yes some issues are a bit thin but others are reference material. f and c is now an oddity almost a coffee table hipster thing. the adverts are few and to the point as well. tbh I prefer woodworker mags from the 30s 40s and 50s they are more thorough in there treatment of woodworking topics still relevant now. I can spend an hour reading those but f and c has little for me.

I've subscribed to FW on and off over the years, a fresh copy dropped through my letterbox just last week but although it's very nicely produced there's little fresh content to interest me these days. The main value of the subscription is having access to the online resource that Fine Woodworking offers. If I'm ever stuck knowing what to do with a project, chances are there's an article or a video to help out.