From a good Bandsaw to a great Bandsaw.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Louie10

Established Member
Reaction score
I am new to this so please forgive my mistakes, I had purchased a Record Power BS400, a rock solid machine, heavily made and a saw that would comfortably last a lifetime if cared for, I build bespoke furniture, one offs for customers so although I do look after my machinery they do work for a living. Anyways the BS400 ticked all the boxes but its weakest spot was its guide bearings, a great saw with a stone-age bearing guide arrangement, try as I might I always had that nagging feeling in the back of my mind in relation to those bearings. I did my research and found a small company that machined an aftermarket upgrade but at nearly £150 I figured that why should I pay alot for the saw only to have to pay more for an upgrade! After much thought I parted ways with the BS400 and sold it on, I walked into my tool dealership and cast my eyes on Record Powers Sabre 350, where do I begin, a bandsaw that has taken a huge step forward in fact many, the saw is at last fitted with a bearing guide arrangement that makes sense and more importantly supports the travel and truness of the blade when cutting, I subjected the saw to a demanding cut, a very thin cut along a long board, the saw comfortably achieved this and the consistency of the cut was impressive, no thin and thick drafting, just a perfectly accurate precise cut along the length of wood throughout! The power of the saw at one and three quarter horse power is plenty, a smaller cast table in comparison to the BS400 but much thicker, a quieter saw when running, and a great fence that locks down rock solidly.