French windows, WIP photos

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chataigner

Established Member
Reaction score
Please note, french windows here refers to windows in france! :lol: :lol:

I need to replace several very old windows in my house (17th C, though I think the windows are a bit more recent!). They are in oak, and clearly hand made, so not soooo recent. I've never done this before, so the plan is to copy the old ones which have stood the test of time rather well, but make them deeper to allow for double glazed panels.

I expect most people know that windows in France normally open inwards so the weather proofing arrangements are more like a UK door. This has several advantages as far as I'm concerned, not least that you can repaint or whatever (and clean) first and second floor windows from inside. Other benefits include kids not hitting their heads on open ground-floor windows when running around the outside and finally, uncluttered window sills, so you can actually see out! External window boxes provide planting space for those who must have half the window blocked! :roll:

The windows are all hinged double casements. The first, which is also the smallest, has overall size of 1m30 high by 1m10 wide. My local saw mill provided some very nice 54mm thick oak around 60cm wide, just band sawn from the log, then air dried. I was able to select mainly ¼ sawn boards.

First job was to cut out some rough blanks, I did this using a BIG portable circular saw as my band saw is not really up to supporting 60kg+ boards, these were then left for a few days to allow for possible movement, then planed and thicknessed.

The profiles were cut on the table saw, and left me a bunch of nice little laths that will be turned into trellis panels for climbing plants in the summer! Bit of burning, must change the blade. :oops:

profiles.jpg