Flexible drive wood working

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippygeoff

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

I have just crept over here from the wood turning section, I don't normally wander like this but I need some help from you guys out there. I want to buy a flexible drive system, something like a proxxon or a dremel or even something from Axy. The main purpose for this is to add decoration and texturing to some of the items I make on the lathe. I suppose its a bit like taking up golf and you haven't got a clue, you go into the shop and there are hundreds of clubs, what ones do you choose. I have never done anything like this before and completely in the dark and I don't know anyone who does it either. Some of the flexible drives are hand drills taking bits up to 10mm, thats not what I want, I think the one I want takes 3.2mm bits that are readily available in all shapes and sizes. This is where I am confused again, there are milling bits, burrs, rasp etc,here are hundreds of them. I don't want to buy what I don't need so if anyone can point me in the right direction I would be very grateful.

Just something to consider-- Do you actually need a flexible drive? A dremel is quite light to handle and will deliver more than enough power for what you want with out having a flexi snake to drag behind it.

my 2p

Bob

9fingers":fayw3xy3 said:
Just something to consider-- Do you actually need a flexible drive? A dremel is quite light to handle and will deliver more than enough power for what you want with out having a flexi snake to drag behind it.

my 2p

Bob

I'd second what Bob says, and you can get boxed kits of large assortment of burrs, little sanding / cutting disks and polishers from various sources. Even seen them in Lidl and Aldi.

Bob