Flattening the Top Edge of Box

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SW_Autocord

Reaction score
Hello all!

I've been lurking on the forum for a couple of weeks reading all the great info, but now I'm hoping for some help. I'm a complete novice at woodworking. I have a small selection of hand tools that I've accumulated over the last few months and am part way through my first project- a little box.

It's nothing special (well, it is to me!), just a dovetail joined pine box about 6x4 inches in size with rebated panels glued in as a lid and base, then cut in half to make a separate bottom and lid. So far it's going really well and most of the mistakes I've made aren't too obvious. Yesterday I cut the top off to make the lid, and it actually went a lot smoother than I expected!

One thing I struggled with, is flattening the two cuts (i.e. the bottom edge of the lid and the top edge of the bottom) so that the two halves sit nicely together. When I cut the box, I marked two lines 3-4mm apart to cut between, thinking that the lines would give me something easy to plane back to.

I can't for the life of me get the faces flat. I've watched the Paul Sellers video where he references a hand plane on the top and then goes round the whole edge in one go to create a flat surface, but he makes it look much easier than it is! I was checking for flatness by putting it upside down on a flat surface and seeing if it rocked from corner to corner.

In the end I got it about as good as I could get it with a plane (old No 5 Stanley) and then finished it off by rubbing it upside down on a piece of sandpaper stuck to a granite chopping board (what a wonderful noise that made!) Eventually the box halves sat together with only small gaps in places, but it took a long time and isn't particularly well finished.