First bench Mortice Machine

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bourbon

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi All. I have just picked up a Charnwood W308 machine. I've never used a morticer before. Any tips? It came with a drill chuck and 7 chisels. It was really cheap so I can't complain if it's a pile of poo! I am going to have a go at making a set of gates, My biggest project so far.

The best money I ever spent was for a chisel sharpening kit from Axi. There is a world of difference when the chisel and auger are sharp.

When setting up the chisel and auger, set the chisel with a penny between the top of the chisel and the cast housing, and then push the auger up tight into the chisel and clamp it down in the chuck, remove the penny and push the chisel up into the housing and square it up with the rear fence and tighten it in place.

The reason for the penny gap is you want clearance between the auger and the chisel like below otherwise there will be a lot of friction and you'll burn the auger and chisel into an early grave:

lbxNVKX.jpg

Another rule of thumb is you want the cutting edge to line up with the points of the chisel.

Deburring the box and auger itself helps with clogging and chip ejection, particularly on really cheaply made chisels.

To add to Trevanion above, the actual coin you use depends rather on the chisel and the stock: You need a bigger gap for softwoods, smaller for hardwoods ans smaller chisels. Some tuning (choice of coin) may be required.

1. Fit the chisel, using the coin to give you a gap;
2. Snug-up the auger to the chisel and tighten the chuck;
3. Loosen off the chisel, push it up fully home (remove the coin) and re-tighten,