Eastend Sawmills RIP

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Quadie

Established Member
Reaction score
I suppose this applies more to those based in and around Glasgow and more specifically, those who actually used Eastend Sawmills.

Sad news is, a 50 year old business has gone to the wall.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-10899025

As a novice I liked the place - great range of products at decent prices (well I thought so). And it's always nice to go somewhere where they are keen to help those that might not know what they are talking about!!

On a selfish note, is there anyone on here who knows, or is from the Glasgow area that could point me in the direction of a new supplier. I checked the timber merchants map and most things seem like a bit of a drive, especially if I'm just buying dressed pine and the like.

Are the Build Center / Timber Centers any good.

Cheers,

Keith.

Sad news indeed.

Visited the place a few times to buy decking supplies when I stayed in Kings Park area.

Now that I live in the south west area I have used Timbmet who are based in Shieldhall.

I also tend to use Jewsons due to it being close to where I stay and the fact that I get a discount, being a council employee.

it seems every week i hear of another sawmill or joinery shop going under it has to end soon or there will be nobody left.

I was recently talking to a sawmill owner down this way whilst i was doing some work for him he reconed he has to just about give the timber away to get the machining work.

I dont know about anyone else but its like somone is playing with a light switch for me one week im snowed under and struggle to fit the work in the next its quiet (having said that i have only been self employed since the dimise of wadkin so i havnt built up enough of a customer database yet)