Dodd planer electrical issue

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

usbrit

Reaction score
I have a Dodd jointer/planer that I inherited in non working condition. I have basic electrical knowledge and a multimeter, but can't figure out where to start fault finding.

Fuse is good, but nothing when trying to start.

Does anyone have a manual or schematic for the SEC magnetic contactor and thermal overload or could walk me through troubleshooting?

Thanks
David
16596408523238345420763121734906.jpg

Attachments

• 16596407907284524959338314128626.jpg
    16596407907284524959338314128626.jpg
    2.6 MB · Views: 0
Btw, realised that the centre black button is a interlock that needs pressing and that there is a thermal overload reset, but have tried both positions of this with no luck.

I'm not going to start a long online troubleshooting procedure for your P/T, but will suggest a few checks to possibly eliminate the contactor or the motor.

In the photo below, the Mains input are the bottom terminals. Terminal U/2 is the Mains Neutral conductor (blue wire) and Terminal W/6 is the Mains Line conductor (brown wire). You should have a green wire somewhere in that bundle that is the Mains Earth conductor that connects to the green wire to the motor. It could (should) be attached to an earthing terminal somewhere in the box.

The Mains connections are the top terminals. Terminal R/1 is the Mains Neutral conductor (blue wire) and Terminal T/5 is the Mains Line conductor.

The black button in the middle of the contactor is the manual start button, and I usually use this for testing. In normal operation, when the Start button is pressed and the contactor engages, you will see this button pulled down into the contactor.

The white button next to the current overload setting wheel should be the overload reset.