Dining table - first major project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Franknstein

Reaction score
Hi all
I'm new to woodworking on any real level. Built some shelves in the past and thrown together tables from pallet wood etc etc, and did woodwork for a few years in school. But truth is I am way more competent as a metal worker. Anyhow, I've just moved to a new house I bought and as such have little to no furniture. So decided to try my hand at woodworking and wanted to build most of the furniture I need as I've always wanted to do woodworking. Bought a whole load of tools, sash clamps/hand saws/ hand circ saw/etc, and got to work.

So my plan was for a solid wood dining table, from PSE spruce (which I got from B&Q). Final design will be stained dark walnut and satin varnished with most of the shine knocked off. I wanted to build something simple, with clean lines for a modern look. The table will reside in my conservatory, which is heated, but not cooled. Harsh environment for such a table as I am beginning to realise.
The wood I used for the legs was from a reproduction sleeper (pine) which I found in the garden of my new house round the side... which I quartered with the circ saw, and planed down to square with a Stanley No.5 jack.

So, before starting the project I watched loads of Paul Sellers Masterclass on youtube, and read a fair bit of things here and there.

Anyhow, I have over the course of the past few weeks when I have had spare time, built the table, which I thought was complete and ready for finishing - but clearly its not.

Pics are attached.

The apron frame/ legs came out really well, and 99% square. And very solid. I am very happy with the result.

The top and the way its relating to the apron is not so good. So here is what happened: