De-tensioning bandsaw after use?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
It may well do all of those things, but simply not necessary on a well made machine.

No harm in it if you want to do it of course, but it really is not necessary, or at least hasn't been for me for the last several decades of use :)

I certainly don't want to get into any arguments, especially when I don't have that much band saw knowledge paulm, I think a LOT depends on what tool you have. IF a band saw consists of a frame which is "just bent up" out of thin gauge sheet steel (meaning most of the frame strength comes from the bends themselves, which in my cheapo it certainly does, AND in several others I've seen) then as a fairly well-trained engineer myself, I'd "guess" it's a racing certainty that de-tensioning would be a necessity unless said band saw was in regular daily use. Mine certainly is not, hence de-tensioning after every use.

Last edited:
I've neither snapped a blade nor taken the tension off in ten years.
Ditto, though 20 years for me.
I have heard it can create flat spots on the upper wheel, but if it has i couldnt tell you with my rattly old bandsaw.
Sounds like the saw blade is the problem, maybe had a crack in it.
Have you examined the rest of the blade to see if there are any other cracks ?

If theres none, email back to tuff ,quote what they've said and reply with WHAT A LOAD OF BOLLAKS.

Ditto, though 20 years for me.
I have heard it can create flat spots on the upper wheel, but if it has i couldnt tell you with my rattly old bandsaw.
Sounds like the saw blade is the problem, maybe had a crack in it.
Have you examined the rest of the blade to see if there are any other cracks ?

If theres none, email back to tuff ,quote what they've said and reply with WHAT A LOAD OF BOLLAKS.