Converting a Shed into a Workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sneezle

Reaction score
Hi all,

First time posting here but I have been following this forum for tips for a while.
I could really do with your advice on how to properly insulate a pre-built shed. I can see there are a lot of posts already about this and I have read a lot of them but because I am quite new to being handy and I couldn't see anything directly comparable to lift ideas from, I thought I would be best asking directly.

Scenario

In short, until very recently, we were due to move to a larger house, but due to a chain collapse, that plan has now fallen through. Due to an imminent new arrival (!) we aren’t likely to be moving again for a few years.
I have been using the loft as a mini workshop for a while but this will need to be repurposed as an office space.

I have a nice 12x8 pre-fab shed that I purchased in 2020 which is currently sitting largely unused. I want to find a way to turn this shed into a small workshop to practice some small woodwork and keep my homebrew kit in.

I know this is a small space for a workshop but it’ll be a substantial upgrade from the space I currently have (which is basically a very small table in the loft). I have watched a whole bunch of youtube videos and read a lot of DIY books about converting a shed into a workshop and basically just find myself a bit overloaded by all the conflicting information and basically paralysed by indecision and the fear of getting it wrong and having to either redo it all, or having a rotting mess within 2 years!

Shed

The Shed is 12x8 and is tongue and groove. Timber is treated and is rated for 10 years +. The roof is metal and the building seems watertight. The shed sits on timber bearers on an uneven concrete floor.