Combination square

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mkirby

Reaction score
Hi all,

Can anyone recommend a good combination square that will actually come square? Im just starting out so don't want to spend a fortune but i also don't want to buy cheep if its going to be useless. Have not found many reviews and those i have have not been good.

Im after a 6 inch and a 12 inch square.

Thanks

Mark

As they're really made for engineering I would imagine most will be good enough for woodworking but anything made by Starrett is usually very good. A quick check of the four I have of differing sizes and various makes all check out spot on and they all came from car-boots :)

Rabone is everybody's favourite. Ebay for only a few quid. If lucky you may find the scribing pin still in place but these are usually long gone.
Bahco look good (and cheap) and nobody has said anything bad about them as far as I know.

Hello,

I have a Starrett, Rabone and Moore and Wright which are all good. My best advice is to avoid those die cast zinc stocked things, which are flimsy, often not square and do not lock well. The rules can be poor too, either badly etched or stamped out, so the ends are deformed and cannot be trusted. The good ones are engineering quality and therefore, not cheap, but worth the investment as they will last a lifetime or more and more significantly, can be relied on. Marking out is important to get right, as you are aware, since errors inherent in a project right from the start are just frustrating. Do not skimp on a poor tool and you will be happy.