Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

collet change

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

A

Anonymous

Guest
Hi, sorry to ask what might be a dumb question, but I am dumb? I have a Casalls router ( same as Freud 2000vce) It was supplied wit 1/2" and 1/4" collets but only one nut. Is there some special method of removing the collet from the nut, I am unable to remove the 1/2" inch one.
Thanks.
 

tx2man

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2004
Messages
391
Reaction score
0
Location
cheshunt, herts
Hi stoob.
No special method, just slide the 1/4'' one inside
the 1/2'' one and do up the collet nut.
Make sure that the 1/4'' collet doesn't slide all the
way in so you can't see it.

TX
 

jasonB

Established Member
Joined
26 Nov 2004
Messages
5,044
Reaction score
0
Location
Surrey
Is It a reducing sleeve, if yes then do as above.

If it is a complete collet then take the nut/collet off the router and give them a firm pull. There is a lip on most collets that engages into a recess in the nut.

Jason
 

Noel

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
7 Aug 2003
Messages
6,259
Reaction score
95
Stoob, as has been said it's simply a reducing sleeve that slides inside the 1/2" collet. No need to remove anything, just drop the sleeve inside, chuck your 1/4" bit in and tighten as you would normally. Fun starts when you want to go back to 1/2" and want to pull the sleeve out. There's no lip on it and a pair of tweezers are handy. You can put a little lump of rubber or dried silicone in the collet recess to keep the sleeve from disappearing.

Noel
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
Cheers guys, but I don't think it's any of the above. It is not a sleeve. There appears to be what looks like a washer inside the nut but it won't come out, and I don't want to tap it too hard with a mallet just in case it is fixed. I'll take a picture tomorrow and post it. I have no real need to do it as I have a seperate 1/4" router it just bugs me that I cant.
 

Newbie_Neil

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2003
Messages
6,537
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottingham, England
Hi Stoob

Why don't you spend a fiver, or so, and buy another collet nut. You can then change sizes without any hassle. :wink:

Cheers

Neil
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
67
Location
Cotswolds UK
stoobydale

Can you identify your collet type from here?

http://www.trendmachinery.co.uk/collets/

It may help members with advice, or you with a solution.

Edit: if you can't see it then an e-mail with make and model to this or an equivalent company may yield a solution, they do hold patterns not shown in this list, I have purchased such.
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
Nice one CHJ, saves me taking a piccie. The collet I have is No3, but it is inside a nut with some sort of retaining ring which I can't remove and I don't seem to be able to compress the collet enough for it to slip by. Just for reference my router is also on the list it is a "casals FT2000VCE"
Cheers.
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
67
Location
Cotswolds UK
stoobydale":1xs8ov1i said:
The collet I have is No3, but it is inside a nut with some sort of retaining ring which I can't remove and I don't seem to be able to compress the collet enough for it to slip by.
Is the circlip a plain circular wire ring with slit in it? if so then it is just a case of applying enough pressure.

However I would recommend you to get another nut as Neil says, more convenient and less hassle in the long run.

Same advice re: nut purchase e-mail company and ask if they stock a suitable nut for your model.
 

jasonB

Established Member
Joined
26 Nov 2004
Messages
5,044
Reaction score
0
Location
Surrey
The No 3 is the same as my ELU 177e and most of the 1/2" Dewalts, just give it a good pull, there is no other clip or ring involved.

Jason
 

Jake

Established Member
Joined
5 Apr 2004
Messages
4,932
Reaction score
19
Location
London
Try giving it a gentle tap inwards, this sometimes frees it up
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
HaHa! just seen the post from Neil. Would gladly just buy another nut but never been able to locate one, (and not for a fiver) will follow up the link. Thanks chaps. definitely is a retaining ring inside the nut and doesn't look like it's split anywhere. If that is the case you would think it would push out with a tap, but I don't want to risk damaging the nut.
 

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
77
Location
In the eternally wet North
It looks the same as on my DeWalt 625 (and the Trend chart cross refs in agreement).

To remove it do as follows...

find a suitable size hole in something that you can slip the nut/collet into and that supports the nut...with the collet through the hole...you'll need room underneath the hole for you to put your hand to catch the collet. My Workmate bench has perfect holes.

Get a piece of 1/2" dowel and a couple of inmches long...it should just fit inside the nut. Whack the dowel hard with a hammer and the collet should pop out.

Preferred route is still a separate nut/collet arrangement

Roger
 
A

Anonymous

Guest
Cheers Roger. Does yours have the retaining ring? Sounds more like what is needed to remove it. Think I'm going to go down the new nut route as recommended.

Cheers everyone.
 

RogerS

Established Member
Joined
20 Feb 2004
Messages
17,391
Reaction score
77
Location
In the eternally wet North
Yes..it does. You will see it when you get your collet out! Check out Trends' 50 page PDF file on collets, cutters and routers..well worth a read.
 
Top