Clarke 16" Scroll Saw - CSS400D - Can I use universal blades?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bex19

Reaction score
Hey there!
I’m a complete newbie. I have been checking out and reading some threads, but I can’t seem to find any answers to my questions… please point me I. The right direction if you can.
I use my Clark saw just to cut out plywood shapes for the backing of my art pieces. So the basic blades that came with it do the job just fine, although sometimes there is some splintering to the underside. I gather a reverse blade would reduce chipping and splintering?

My query is, can I use any universal reversible blade? I cannot find any for this Machine Mart brought saw anywhere. If you have any recommendations please lease post.

Also… while I am here, I would like to begin using my saw more, I want to try a few more intricate pieces. But I find cutting tight angles can be difficult… any advise?

Thanks soo much.
Bex

Hi,
If your Clarke machine is like mine then you should be able to use any pin ended blade of the right length. There are clamps available so you can use plain blades, they just hook over where the pins go and clamp the blade with a grub screw.
I don't know much about scroll sawing but my understanding is the smaller the blade the tighter the curve you can cut, there are even spiral blades that cut in any direction. I've never used those so I'll leave it to others to comment on them.
Hope this helps a bit
Tris

To minimise the splintering, use a fine toothed blade and use a sacrificial piece of scrap underneath the workpiece. IMHO, using a blade which cuts on the upward stroke will make it difficult, if not impossible, to hold an accurate cut line.

G.

There's a sticky at the top of this section which will tell you just about everything you need to know about scroll saw blades - including what? why? where to buy? etc.