Chop Saw Stand?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aaronsmith8265

Reaction score
Hello all.

I am a 2nd year University student studying Industrial design.
For one of my projects, I am looking at developing a Stand for Chop Saws.
As I have seen that there is a lot of Chop Saws and Abrasive Chop Saw, however, I can not see any stands like there is for Mitre Saws.
So I wanted to see if it is a product people might be interested in using in their line of work.

Any feedback would be great for my project.

Thank you

Generally, if you’ve got a abrasive or cold saw, you’ve also got a welder, so I’d imagine most would make their own stand for about £20 in materials and about an hour of time rather than buy one for circa £100.

Also these machines tend to be used on the floor anyway since the material tends to be too heavy and long to easily manoeuvre onto a stand.

I second that.
Chop saws are a jobsite tool. Contractors don't want to carry unnecessary gear so it just get put on the ground for use. Metal tube, sections and rebar that are commonly cut on site tend to be heavy and / or long so they would be hard work to lift up onto a stand and any H&S benefit of not having to bend over while cutting would be offset by a much greater manual handling toll in bending and lifting the stock up and down off the ground, potentially turning a one man job into a two man job, and the hazard of heavy stock falling off the stand and injuring someone.
Lighweight metal cutting can now be done with cordless bandsaws / metal cutting circ saws, and if you wanted to work at waist height, something like a triton superjaws would be well suited to hold the stock though it's heavy to lug around.