Charnwood 650 query and general table saw buying advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seb1982

Reaction score
Hi everyone! I've just joined this fine forum as a new woodworker, so ... first things first .... Hello!

Right. Another table saw thread. I apologise in advance, but assure you I've read all the others I can find!

So I'm pretty new to woodworking, but I've completely got the bug having started building myself an electronic pipe organ. I've found I'm getting more and more interested in the woodwork on the organ console, and less and less interested in the instrument ... which wasn't how it was supposed to be... :roll: :mrgreen:

Anyway. I'm looking to set up my garage as a workshop. I've spent the last few weeks looking over the internet for table saw reviews. My budget limit is £1,000 max at the moment, which sadly just rules out the Jet 600 and Axminster Trade ones once extension tables and sliding tables are factored in. The garage hasn't got a 16A supply, either.

What I've narrowed it down to is as follows, with my thinking:

1. Bosch GTS 10 XC

The cheapest. Reasonable power at 2KW ish. Reasonably square-locking fence system. But non-standard mitre slots, and rather lightweight. Only small cross cut capability. Only aluminium table. Could buy from Axminster and enjoy decent after sales if any problems.

2. DeWalt 7491

Not cheap. Love the rack and pinion fence. Reasonable 2KW ish power. Still a site saw at the end of the day, though. Non-standard mitre slots (I think). No sliding cross cut table. But a nice small footprint with massive ripping width. The only large place that sells them is Machine Mart, and I frankly don't trust them to put right anything that was wrong. Bad experiences with them. I can't find anywhere that would let me actually get a hands-on experience before parting with the best part of a grand.