cd's entry !!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cd

Established Member
Reaction score
Hope I've put this in the right place, Ive never entered a woody competition before but have done the occasional small piece for money before and on and off I've been turning for 15 years.

What is it? … It’s a Turned Bird Box in MDF and Iroko. The base is MDF, a 12 piece barrel turned smooth round inside and out with an MDF bottom. The top is Iroko. There’s also an Iroko mounting bracket with a sliding dovetail so it can be taken on and off the tree easily. MDF is painted and the Iroko finished with Chesnut oil.

Why a birdhouse? … Well I’ve wanted to try and make a segmented biscuit barrel for a while but wasn’t sure exactly how to go about it and was therefore reluctant to use real wood. A combination of my daughter’s request for a bird box and the competition was enough motivation to saw up an off-cut of MDF window board and have a go.

This is the segments glued up (note the expensive string and stick clamps :wink: )

click on any of the images for larger view
I spent a lot of time waiting for glue to dry with this project not something I'm used to :)

….. and this is it on the lathe with the inside part turned

hope the birds appreciate the interior :p

Lots more WIP pictures and if anyone's interested I'll post a link to them after the competition closes

Here’s the finished article

And a real life shot of it on a tree !!

And SWMBO's comment "so does this mean you'll do the biscuit barrel soon ?"

cd

Hi CD

Well done, it looks excellent.

Am I correct in thinking that the sides are waterproof mdf that you have then painted?

I look forward to the wip photos after the closing date.

Good luck.

Cheers
Neil

CD,

It looks great - like something made from porcelain.