Career as a Carpenter

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mark18PLL

Established Member
Reaction score
Not sure if anyone can give me any tips or guidance and apologies if it is not relevant to this forum.

I am currently studying a City and Guilds level 2 Site Carpentry Diploma. I am 47, wanted a career change and was really drawn to it. Now i am starting to move through the course i decided to look into my CSCS card and have since found that the course i am currently doing is not actually recognised by them and i would have to complete an NVQ Diploma Level 2 in Site Carpentry. I am quite gutted as i was really hoping to make this work, i did speak to my college at first (when enrolling) regarding an apprenticeship but was told employers really want young kids. I understand this but unfortunately it just puts up another barrier for someone my age.

Has anyone else managed to do this and make it work and have any tips or advise.

Thank you in advance

Mark

Hi Mark, I can't give any trade advice but it might well help those that can offer real experience if you begin by explaining what sort of work you are interested in doing or think will pay the best depending on your view of necessity. A shuttering carpenter working on formers for concrete pouring on building sites? Kitchen fitting for the domestic market? Making bespoke furniture?
You might find it better to try to get experience with a smaller company that might not need paper qualifications just an assurance that you will work hard and learn fast on a realistic payscale as you 'grow'. Might be worth ringing around some local companies and having a chat. You never know, if you have the right attitude and click with someone similar willing to take a chance it could get you working faster than a diploma.