Can I run my wadkin BER 2 in reverse?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Clee_to_Clee

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi I have a wadkin ber 2 and need to run it in reverse for the jobs I need it to do.
A friend of mine was round the workshop the other day and said he really wasn’t sure if I should run it in reverse and I should definitely check that the motor was capable of it and wasn’t going to take off like a scud missile.
I had already reversed the wires and had it running backwards but not with any cutters on, it seemed fine.
I’m planning to get the spindle milled to fit a locking washer before I actually use it in reverse with cutters.

Many thanks in advance for any help!

Don’t even think about it. It will more than likely just grab the wood and fire it across the workshop

There must be another way

I’m a fully qualified wood machinist of 40 yrs and I’ve seen what these machine can do when set up wrong.

Hi Gareth thanks for the reply
Yes, feeding left to right, that’s why the motor needs to run in reverse, that machine will only ever run in reverse because I don’t want to have potential mix ups with which way it goes.
I’m planning to add the locking washer channel that most modern machines have so they can be run in reverse, I just need to know if I’m going to run into any problems with that particular motor

I’m definitely not planing on launching stuff round the shop and have a lot of respect for what the machine can do if not handled with care

Sounds like you should be okay not sure about the motor.

To start with I thought you where feeding from the right with it running in reverse then realised what you where trying to do

my next thought was the locking nut could come loose but looks like you’ve thought of this

I once over tightened a cutter and it got free