BSP Threads

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Argonaut

Established Member
Reaction score
Looking for advice on the suitability of a BSP fitting.

My need is to fit a 1" BSP male thread into a clearance hole is a thin(ish) plate and fix it there with a nut either side of the plate
One of these : https://www.oilybits.com/316-stainless- ... b-bsp.html

My question is the Male threads are BSPT (not BSPP)
Will a standard 1" BSP nut hold on a 1" BSP tapered thread.

I have no experience of Taper threads so unsure.

This does not have to be a water tight seal, I can use PTFE is required, my only concern is the physical fitting. (it's blowing low-pressure air through fitting)

Normally it holds ok. Only experience I have is BSPP pipe fitting onto BSP taper fitting - holds with some PTFE or Boss White/ hemp. 2nd nut on the more tapered part might be loose but with plenty of PTFE should be fine. Other option might be to weld a nut or half socket to your sheet and screw fitting to that. You would get a BSPT Socket or use BSPT socket on the tapered end and a back nut if you want it to be less shoogly.

sunnybob":1frkrtl8 said:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/BSP-Storage-Tank-Water-connector/dp/B00FA38L7Q

It has to be a metal fitting .. brass os SS due to temp

jimmy_s":3szh7u0t said:
Normally it holds ok. Only experience I have is BSPP pipe fitting onto BSP taper fitting - holds with some PTFE or Boss White/ hemp. 2nd nut on the more tapered part might be loose but with plenty of PTFE should be fine. Other option might be to weld a nut or half socket to your sheet and screw fitting to that. You would get a BSPT Socket or use BSPT socket on the tapered end and a back nut if you want it to be less shoogly.

I can't weld .. as plate is chrome plated, and fitting is stainless ... though PTFE tape or any other hi-temp tape would be OK

sunnybob":dtq6hse4 said: