Boiled Linseed Oil and dry wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Player33

Reaction score
Hi all, complete newbie on here, so please excuse the coming straight in with a question and apologies if it’s been asked before

I have a question about BLO finishes and dry wood that I hope I might get some advice on.

I’ve done rifle stocks before, so mainly walnut, but I am working a bit of elm for an experiment with a local chap who makes stuff out of it, including clocks. He waxes them, and it looks lovely, but I wondered if I could get an oil rubbed finish on it, so have been trying to do a hand rubbed BLO finish.

I have a problem with a section of the wood, on one side is a bit that just seems to drink oil. I can pour a puddle on, leave it, not rub it in or anything just leave it, and in 10 minutes it’s sucked the lot in and the wood is still drier than a dry thing. I’ve given it at least 6 good soakings so far, and it hasn’t flinched. The rest is fine, 2 coats and it was pooling, so that’s done, it’s just this 2 inches or so on the edge that was directly under the bark. It’s just an offcut I’m practising on so it’s not the finest piece of wood ever.

Anyone seen this before? Has anyone got any tips, or is it just pick a better a bit of wood?

Have attached a poor picture to illustrate.

E294F197-35DC-4543-803C-ADC2B09F4119.jpeg

I'd try it on a finished item without sap wood etc. I use raw linseed oil. Has to be brushed on thin and then rubbed up after a day or so. Then a week or more later do it again. And again!
If you put too much on it pools on the surface or soaks in if it's porous, and won't harden.