Best hinge for a DIY murphy desk?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nightyard

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to build a murphy desk for my wife's home office and I'm stumped as to what hinge would be most suitable for the job.

I've come across a murphy desk (pre built) that uses a hinge so strong that the desk doesn't need any supporting struts. I would love to be able to build something as clean as this, but I'm unsure what hinges the desk uses. The manufacturer has a video showing someone doing a backflip off of it!

any ideas or recommendations?

https://pithandstem.com/product/droptop-duo/
1634555593399.png

I'm no engineer but the hinge in this build doesn't need to be that strong.. well kind of.

The load on the front of the desk will push UPWARDS on the bottom of the carcass screwed to the wall. So good wall fixings are a must. Given we can't see the hinge rebate into the desk, and the desk leaf overhangs the frame, i can only assume its underneath that carcass. So any downward load on the desk would also be pulling the screws on the face frame of that wall unit downwards (sheer force??) so again a good solid purchase on there would be needed.

I'd be tempted to use a decent piano hinge at first...

Either way good luck and I hope other people respond.

No ideas, sorry.
I'd love to see their "purpose built extremely strong hinges, supporting up to 50kg", though.
I'd particularly like to see how they fare after 12 months of everyday use.