Best finish for exposed pine floorboards?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richardbell81

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I know this topic has been covered before but I suppose i'm after a few more up to date and definitive responses! We've just bought our first house and i've exposed the floorboards which i'm planning on sanding this weekend.

So... would everyone recommend a water based, poly based or hard wax finish? The products i've been looking at so far are...

1. Wickes' Satin floor varnish (Water based)
2. Ronseal Diamond Hard Floor Varnish Satin (Water based?)
3. Liberon High Resistance Floor Varnish Clear Satin (Poly Based)
4. Finney’s Hardwax Varnish (Water based)
5. Osmo Polyx Oil

I've attached a picture of the finish i'm after. Any advice and your experience would be hugely appreciated as it's my first time doing this job!

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• completed300.jpg
    completed300.jpg
    106.1 KB · Views: 48,686
Did some further research at lunch... am i right in thinking that water based varnishes don't last very long and oil based ones are yellowing? If so, then that leaves me with either a hardwax or a Polyurethane based finish?

So many choices!

Or shellac!
Shellac can either be clear, golden brown, dark brown stain to the wood, very pleasing in my opinion, it can be patched in in the future, as a re-coat/patch coat reactivate's the original. It's fast drying, takes a bit of abuse without loosing it's appearance, shows the grain of the wood at it's best...bosshogg :)

Thanks for the response. I didn't realise you could use shellac on floorboards? As I'm not that familiar with applying shellac I may be tempted to go with something else but I will look into it as its not something I'd considered!