Belt and Disc sander - recommendations?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mpcpba

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi
I am a hobbyist woodturner and DIY woodworker.
Until now I've used an old B&D hand belt sander for stock removal sanding. This came with a backplate so it can be gripped in a vice with a mitre guide and doubles as a small 'bench' sander. However this is now expiring and I also find that I need more accuracy than this will offer with sanding right angle and mitred work.
I am thinking of adding a disc and belt sander / linisher to my kit. Mainly to assist with removing turned bowl tenons and generally so I can more easily achieve an accurate finish to work. I also want to try out segmented wood turning so I need to be able to be reasonably sure about sanding accurate mitre angles. I also don't want one with cheap plasticky fixings which will break after 3 months use either

Ideally I don't want to spend more than about £140 and there seems to be a lot of 150mm disc /100mm belt ones out there to choose from at that price including:

Record Power BDS 150. £139 ish. Seems underpowered at 250w? Some say that the mitre & table are rubbish. 5yr guarantee though
CoTech £99 + 10% off just now. 500watt. Clas Ohlson backed 2 yr guarantee. Seems a sensible option with some spares available too - but few reviews
Erbauer ERB707BTS. £99 from Screwfix. 500watt 2 yr guarentee.
Scheppach BTS 800. £139. 370watt. 2yr guarentee
Clarke CS4-6D. £100. Heard poor things about Clarke kit so not too keen

Any help or suggestions very much welcomed as although my usage will be quite light I'd rather not buy a piece of junk just to save £50. Currently favour the CoTech from Clas Ohlson.
Thanks in anticipation for any advice!