Beginner needing some advice as to what to buy next?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cmwatt

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

As the title says, I'm a beginner to woodworking really. The last time I done anything was at school really (probably 10 years ago)! :? At the moment, I've got a small collection of tools including some of my father's stuff:

- Jet JWBS-9 Bench Top Bandsaw (now fitted with a 10mm 6 tpi blade from tuffsaws)
- Spear & Jackson Tenon Saw
- Cheap Draper Rip Saw (for laminate flooring etc)
- Stanley 5 1/2 Jack Plane
- Axminster 9 1/2 Block Plane
- Corded and Cordless drill's (Bosch I think)
- Small jigsaw
- Draper Expert Chisel Set (4 piece set)
- Mallet
- Draper Marking and Mortice Gauge
- Combination Square
- A smallish hoover
- A workbench my father made, which only has a mechanic's vice (hope to get a woodworking vice like a Record at some point soon)
- 2x 400mm Axminster F-Cramps (plus a few G clamps etc)
- Screwdrivers
- Sharpening Oil Stone

I think that's it, probably missed a few small things. I was offered a small Dremel I think it is too, so I hope to get that soon. The kind of things I plan to make to begin with are probably boxes and small furniture items and maybe eventually a desk and bookshelfs etc. I can source my hardwood here: http://www.woodworkz.co.uk/prices.html.
I've bought some elm which I hope to make a jewellery box with at some point soon, but will probably practice on softwood first. When I was up getting the wood cut to size and planed, he had an old Electra Beckum Planer Thickness (10inch he thought) which he didn't use anymore and said I could have it for £180 or so.