Barbeque table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

artie

Sawdust manufacturer.
Reaction score
I've been asked by a customer to make a long folding table for use at barbeques.
He wants to be able to fold it away and store against a wall when not in use.
He suggested making from two 8 by 4 sheets of plywood.
I have no experience making tables and would appreciate any tips how to make it solid enough without it weighing a ton.

What's it for? If people are to sit at it to eat (and saw through their steaks) it needs to be sturdy. If it's for putting things on as side/serving table, not so much.

Most village halls and similar have folding tables, and there are wallpaper pasting tables. Maybe Google those and get some design ideas.

16506204792017737633299756572222.jpg
16506206057438334526542301428125.jpg
16506206499224834900826203776862.jpg

Built this from reclaimed timber about 15 years ago. It's over 7ft long and we've had 8 people round it for barbecues in the past. Hinges lock the legs open when upright, could do with locking turnbuckles to keep them in the closed position

I made something like this with a lift off top for my track saw. Pretty sturdy and folds up nicely. It is fairly heavy but it can be wheeled around easily enough. I did make some latches to lock the hinges on mine.

I've been asked by a customer to make a long folding table for use at barbeques.
He wants to be able to fold it away and store against a wall when not in use.
He suggested making from two 8 by 4 sheets of plywood.
I have no experience making tables and would appreciate any tips how to make it solid enough without it weighing a ton.
Make it as two tables, or three even. Folding legs or trestles. There are clips and fittings for holding tables together as one - it's a common issue.