Bandsaw seems to lack power, knowledge and help would be appreciated

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Baxidur

Reaction score
Hello

I'm a mechanic by trade and need some advice about bandsaw cutting - I bought a draper bs350c for spares or repairs off fleabay as the motor wasn't working - I replaced the motor with a new 4 pole cap start 750watt motor as well as replacing all the bearings and it seems to run fine, but when I try to cut some 50mm white ash along the the grain it seems to be really lacking in power - my cut speed seems to be around 1cm/minute no matter which blade tpi or 400/800 rpm speed I use - if I go any faster my blade just bogs down and stalls the motor, Is this normal for a 750watt motor vs 50mm ash?

Thanks in advance for any replies or thoughts on this matter

Blunt blades? Too fine a blade, should be 3 or 4tpi ish? Blade tension too low (slipping)? Blade not well aligned? Guides missing?

Hello

I'm a mechanic by trade and need some advice about bandsaw cutting - I bought a draper bs350c for spares or repairs off fleabay as the motor wasn't working - I replaced the motor with a new 4 pole cap start 750watt motor as well as replacing all the bearings and it seems to run fine, but when I try to cut some 50mm white ash along the the grain it seems to be really lacking in power - my cut speed seems to be around 1cm/minute no matter which blade tpi or 400/800 rpm speed I use - if I go any faster my blade just bogs down and stalls the motor, Is this normal for a 750watt motor vs 50mm ash?

Thanks in advance for any replies or thoughts on this matter