Bandsaw for approx £250

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OscarG

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi

I'm a new guitar builder looking for a bandsaw. I'm normally pretty good at researching online when it comes to routers/drills/planer-thicknesser etc but this bandsaw search has left me frustrated, even good makes seem to have some stinking reviews so thought I'd come here and ask the experts!

It doesn't need to cut anything massively thick 2" would be the max I'd cut but they would be relatively hard woods, won't be doing any pine etc. Bench or free-standing fine, budget £250ish. Would stretch that for an ideal machine.

I was tempted by this Record Power BS250 but seen numerous reviews that they often arrive damaged as the packaging is awful.

Sheppach Basa 1, v mixed reviews. Same thing I've seen for Draper, Axminster, Titan.

If anyone can advise, be hugely grateful!

Thanks for your time.

The advice regarding bandsaws seems to place much more emphasis on using the right blades than worrying about the machine itself. Any of those machines you mentioned are good, and everyone (myself included) rates the tuffsaw blades as top notch.

People who complain about damaged packaging when rating products make me laugh. If the packaging is poor or damaged, you reject it upon delivery.

inca. used.

helpfully, none on ebay at the moment but IMHO they are superior to any of the new ones. With the money that you save you can buy a decent blade or two from tuffsaws, which will transform any saw when compare to a blunt blade, or one that it comes with.

actually there is one on there but it looks overpriced and not that good condition. it is also missing some parts.

Kity is also worth a look if you can find a 413