Bandsaw Blues

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Apps

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

To start with let me fess up that I am completely new to owning a bandsaw, having finally managed to find the time and space now I am semi retired so go gentle :)

I have recently purchased a new bandsaw (yes I am afaid its one of those cheaper chinese ones, if you can call £650 cheap) and I am a little concerned it may have an issue, well a couple really.

First off the front rail upon which the fence slides has a scale which is read through the fence sliding mount, however on mine when the fence is touching the blade the scale is reading off the scale i.e. beyond the zero and there is apparently no way of adjusting it, its only a couple of mm but it seems wrong. Is this normal and I am simply unaware of something that is common place? Yes I have tried loosening the various mounts and trying to nudge it along without success.

The second issue is that the rear of the cast iron table appears to catch or snag the wood as I push it through the blade using the mitre gauge at the point where the table is cut for the blade to be inserted. I have placed an engineers square across the "gap" and there is a small but noticable difference. I am able to rock the square between the front and back halfs of the table across the length of the 150mm square. It looks to be 1 mm or so difference in height but just enough to stop a piece of planed timber unless it is slightly lifted or supported by the far left side of the table. Is this normal or am I being overly fussy?

Thank you in advance for your knowledge.

without knowing exactly which machine you have.....
usually you loosen the bolts that hold the rail and slide the whole thing along and adjust the zero to where the fence is just touching the blade.