Bandsaw blades?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sapper

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm looking at perhaps getting the Record BS300E bandsaw. I've been told their blades are pretty useless, if so, what make of blade would you recommend?

Tuffsaws. Ian is a brilliant chap a delight to deal with and a true gentleman

I can confirm that the blades that come with a Record bandsaw are next to useless and initially makes you think it is a shietee machine, fit a Tuffsaw blade for an instant transformation.

I use Beverstock blades. Never had any problems. Very helpful over the phone and delivery within 24hours

The blades you want will depend upon what you are cutting regularly. Tight curves will want a narrower blade. Thicker material will want less teeth

I'm only a hobbyist, but I dipped my toes into the world of bandsaws last Jan (I think?) with a Lidl Parkside bandsaw - I replaced the blade on that with a Tuffsaws, and it was surprisingly capable. I then upgraded to a 2nd hand Record Power BS250, and again fitted Tuffsaws blades. And just recently, I picked up a 2nd hand Record Power BS12, and also fitted Tuffsaws blades. So I don't know if that counts as one vote, or three? ;-)

Which blade you use depends on what you'll be cutting. I have a 5/8" 4TPI which is great for straight cuts, and a 1/4" 4TPI for cutting circles (bowl blanks for my lathe - this is the reason I wanted a larger capacity saw and upgraded through 3 saws in the space of 12 months!!). But Tuffsaws are really helpful, so if you contact them and explain what you want to cut, they'll advise. Great service and quick delivery, and they really improved each machine I've used them on.

As a hobbyist and for general purpose use, which couple of their blades would you recommend I should start with?
If you are not doing a resaw on your bandsaw, go for a 1/4" one for tight curves,