• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Band saw for around £500

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

JonT

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to woodwork and looking for a bandsaw for around £500. I would like to buy something used to try and get a bit higher spec for the money, but not really looking for something very old. I intend to use it while I build skills, but am wary of buying anything that is of such low quality it is difficult to achieve a decent degree of accuracy with. I also don't want to need to upgrade it in the next 2-3 years.

Is the budget realistic, and if so what are people's thoughts on brands/models to look at a bit closer?

RogerP

Established Member
Reaction score
I've had an Axminster AWHBS350n for a couple of years and have been very happy with it. I use Tuffsaw blades as do many others on this forum. The blade that bandsaws come with are usually rubbish and fitting one of Tuffsaw's blades make a huge difference.

ndbrown

Established Member
Reaction score
I think you could get a really good bandsaw for around £500 second hand. I picked up mine for only a fraction more than that in June this year from e-bay and I am sure it will outlast me! Almost everyone else on this forum will have more experience than me with a bandsaw, but what I can say that as a mechanical engineer, the Minimax has superb build quality. I know not everyone will agree with buying seconhand but for me, it stretches my budget to allow me to buy machines I could not afford new. The new version of my machine is over £1800.
I have also bought Blades from Ian at Tuffsaws, as has been stated by others, excellent blades, advice and service.

See my post here: https://www.ukworkshop.co.uk/forums/my-new-italian-companion-minimax-s45-bandsaw-t54601.html

paulm

IG paulm_outdoors
Reaction score