Axminster Sittingbourne 2 day turning course review

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AJB Temple

Finely figured
Reaction score
For the novice turners among us I thought I would jot down a few thoughts on the Axminster 2-day turning course I did at their Sittingbourne store this week. This was for beginners, there are 5 places on each course and we were all total novices at turning. Cost £250 including all drinks, lunch, snacks, wood and tuition.

I would thoroughly recommend this course as it will take you up the learning curve much more rapidly than trying to learn alone. The 2 day course is intensive, starts at 9 and you are on your feet until 5 including tuition through the breaks. We made a decorate mushroom, a very nice hollow vase and a 7” thin sided bowl. All complete and finished to a good standard. Everyone on the course found it really helpful, friendly and insightful: I learnt a great deal about techniques that I would not have picked up on my own. Peter (whose surname I can’t recall sadly) was a good tutor, with about 30 years of turning experience as a pro.

As well as turning decorative objects, beads and coves, hollowing, drilling, bowls etc, it covered safety (including dust safety and tool safety), lighting your work, sanding, three different methods of finishing, polishing, tool sharpening (on two different types of grinder), tool selection, chucks and lathe characteristics. The machines used were either Axminster Trade or Jet. All quite heavy duty variable speed machines in an excellent workshop with top notch extraction etc. We covered a lot of ground in two days.