Axminster Planer Thicknesser ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

screwpainting

Established Member
Reaction score
I have been looking at planer thicknesser's for quite a while now. Second hand, I quite fancied a Kity that was about £350.00, new, a Metabo HC 260C £600.00 and similar others.
Then, I popped into Axminster on Saturday and was very impressed with this machine (£800.00)
The build quality seems excellent and I think it's the one I'll go for as my first machine based on instinct (and lust) alone. I have no experience with these machines and would appreciate any feedback on the Axminster Craft AC250PT as compared to used, or the slightly less expensive Metabo type stuff.

I have to say I was very impressed with Axminster. =D>

Hi Screwpainting - did you ever buy this? If so how did you find it.

Any other forum members got experience of this or anything similar? I'm looking to upgrade to a PT of this type and this one's dimensions will fit nicely in the space i have left in my garage workshop.

I picked up a second hand AC107PT 2017 model (spiral cutter). Its pretty much the same machine par some cosmetic stuff.

I need to change the blades as they have become dull, it was used daily by a jointer.

I have spent quite some time setting it up......being an engineer I am an silly person when it comes to accuracy. 0.01mm or better must be obtained :).

Anyway, I did look at older 260PTs from Elektra Beckum and newer ones from Metabo. I must saw the the Ax AC107PT (260PT) seems very solid. I question the choice of the split out/infeed table, vs the Jet (and others) that have these table as one when you change from jointing to thicknessing.

However, after a lot of fiddling and talking to Ax customer service I am getting it dialled in and even with semi-dull blades it is wonderful. It is very quite and with a Jet Chip extractor it remains clean.