Axminster Craft AC1400B Bandsaw.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MorrisWoodman12

Established Member
Reaction score
The one machine I would like to compliment my small workshop is a bandsaw. (I already have a P/T and an old flip saw plus a chip extractor though the latter would be the next improvement). I'm retired now and woodwork has become my hobby taking up more time than anything else. Well now I have time the missus would like this, and then that around the house.
I see that Axminster are offering a AC1400B bandsaw at the moment for (round figures) £175. In short it's an 80mm depth of cut, 200mm wide, cast iron table that tilts to 45°c/w fence, motor power 250W. Wheel diameter is spec'ed at 200mm (though how can the cut width be 200mm too!).
As a hobbyist I'm unlikely to want to be re-sawing large chunks of timber, I guess most stuff will be less than 3"/80mm and 200mm will be wide enough for most of what I do.
So what advice do you UKWorkshop adepts offer? Should I make it the Christmas present to myself or is there something better out there? Does anyone have experience of the AC1400B? Is 250W just not powerful enough?
Best regards
Martin

I’m not sure I can really help, but I can tell you I recently got the big brother AC2606B, it’s the biggest in the craft range. I’ve been perfectly happy with it, it does everything I need and is well made and I received some good help and knowledge when I got it , if the AC1400 meets your needs and it’s built like mine you won’t be disappointed.

Padster

I would echo Padster. The only consideration is that you will want to cut something taller than 80mm at some point: it's guaranteed. 80mm is tiny. Hardly anything at all. Whichever saw you buy won't be big enough, but why not get something that can at least make reindeer in 3 dimentions.

iu

What else are bandsaw for?