Ash goblet hollowing

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kerrowman

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

I’m a turning newbie and have been trying to create a small goblet using a piece of Ash. Rounding the cylinder has been fine but when it came to gouging out the centre of the unsupported end with the spindle gouge things came unstuck.

I think my gouge is sharp with a good bevel but I’m also aware that Ash is as hard as Oak and that perhaps when one is confronting the end grain, when trying to hollow out the end, that maybe it’s just very tough to cut the fibres for hollowing out and lots of catches occur. Big catches keep loosing my cylinder concentricity so I have to rough down further to correct. At this rate I will end up with a pencil.

I’m working through Keith Rowley's foundation course which is very thorough but have got stuck on the goblet. Perhaps I should be using a softer wood at my stage?

Any guidance would be welcomed.

2B02A4B1-08C2-4661-92E7-BB3D067B1DB0.jpeg

You need to use a bowl gouge on the end grain inside the goblet. I would suggest you set aside the project until you get a bowl gouge and start with shorter boxes and small bowls. Never use a spindle gouge for a job like that.

Pete

Most of the people I've seen drill the majority of it out. Not sure if you have a drill chuck and a suitable bit though. Sorry if that's not much help, I've not got enough experience to give any better advice.

Just curious, are those jaws suitable for length of timber? I'm guessing they are 50mm jaws.
I'm not criticising (I'd like to know also) as most of the chuck/faceplate work I've done have only been a few inches.