Anyone had experience of varifocal glasses?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morrisminordriver

Established Member
Reaction score
Ive been wearing glasses for nearly 40 years and have just had to change from "ordinary" lenses to varifocals.
Im really struggling with the change, Ive heard it takes about 4 weeks to adjust but has anyone here had either good or bad experiences with them?.
Regards DMM ( :wink: )

Hi MMD

,I have been wearing my varifocals for about four years now ,
never had a problem with them, were ok from the start, :D
the optician did say that it could take while to get usedto them,
but i put them on in the shop ,and only take them off to sleep! :!:

hope you get them sorted ok , i wouldn't wear any thing else now.!!!!!!!!
all the best ---Scroller Frank----------

Hi MMD,

I've had varifocals for several years now and wouldn't go back to bi-focals. However, it took me about a month to get fully used to them. Probably something to do with getting used to which part of the lens to look through - with bi-focals there is no problem because there is a clear distinction between the reading and long distance part of the lenses. But when you get used to them the varifocals are so much better - for one thing you can focus better on close-up, long distance and in-between, which you can't do with bi-focals because they just give you close-up and long distance.

Stay with it :)

Paul

You should not have any problem with your varifocals after a running in period. Just watch out for items near your feet when you are looking ahead, difficult but necessary. Also if reclined in a reclining chair and watching TV your eyes might go astray and view through the wrong section.

Hi MM,
It does take a while to get used to Varifocals but if you are having difficulty you should check back with your optician.