Antique chest of drawers alteration.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Silfi

Established Member
Reaction score
I would be grateful for advice from anyone familiar with antique methods of furniture construction. My daughter has asked me to convert an early 20th cent mahogany 4 drawer chest into a blanket box. ie make the fixed top into an hinged lid.
How is the top attached and what chance have I got of removing it with minimal damage? Is it likely to be glued or screwed?
It will not be a valuable ( intend to buy second hand) piece of furniture and am not looking for 'professional' result.
Any help would be useful as I have no experience of antique furniture.

Almost certainly a few screws up from under the top frame. Pull out the top drawer and take a look.
Possible snag is if the back is a thin panel with little strength then you will need a stronger top back rail to hinge the lid off.
May remove the top, cut off about 50mm from the back edge of the top and refit to the chest and hinge the rest of the lid off that?
Take the drawer bodies apart and fix the drawer fronts to the frame.
Based on what you will need to do, check the item you buy for ease of the transformation.