Alcove Shelving - weight to bracket question

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mithadriel

Reaction score
Hi folks,

I have a small alcove in my living room which I want to build some shelves in. I'm a novice in woodworking generally so please bear with me :|

The shelving isn't bought from a store, but rather we're looking to reutilise an old kitchen worktop. It's really good quality oak (I think?!) but as a result is quite heavy. I've had the wood trimmed to size, planed and cleaned up ready for fitting. I've also drilled out the holes to hold the brackets, and on a test fit have chiselled out the indent to hold the bracket.

The bracket type I want to use are the ones which allow for a 'floating' shelf appearance, very similar to these: https://goo.gl/BqaAME

The shelf is the following dimensions:
w x 140mm
d x 40mm
l x 1400mm

The problem I'm having is that the brackets are pretty loose on the wall, and whilst they hold the shelf - it dips and isn't level. I'm fairly sure this is because of either:

- The bracket isn't supporting the weight of the wood properly (not enough brackets, or brackets not big enough ..)
- The wall isn't supporting the bracket appropriately

Or possibly a combination of both :)

My question is - does anyone have a feel for what the cause might be, have you fitted similar weight to a wall - is there a better way to do it etc.

Hope you can help - really appreciate your time :)

Can post pictures if it will help.

Cheers
~ Mith

I think the issue you have, is those brackets have no adjustment. They would be fine on a perfectly plumb wall, with a spot on drilled hole, but the reality is, the chances of both are slim. If you look at this bracket-
http://www.sdslondon.co.uk/concealed-sh ... lsrc=aw.ds