Advise on screws

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JamiePattison

Established Member
Reaction score
I have a wall which is a regular plasterboard with probably wood behind the boards with maybe a foot distance between each one.

I need to hold a few heavy items on the wall and would like to know what screw I would require which won't pull out as soon as a heavy item is placed on it?

Of course I'm new to this so maybe a name and picture would help just to make sure when I go into B&Q I know what I'm looking for.

The best I have come across are umbrella fixings but I use them for light to medium weights. I If its heavy then try and find a good fixing into the wood workbehind the plasterboard. I dont think any of the plasterboard screwfixings would work..

Spax and reissener are good but a bit expensive screwfix turbo gold are pretty good probably used about 3000 during workshop build last year no complaints on my usage obviously you'd need to identify studs for maximum strength

When you say heavy you don’t say what it is your putting up - to echo other comments I’d definitely find the studs and try to work from these as I’ve never had any success with plaster board fixings unless your hanging a few pictures they eventually fail ( imo) - also a note of caution ⚠️ look out for power sockets /water pipes and never assume the cable will go directly above or below these points , a cable detector/pipe finder/ stud finder can save you from hitting these services .