Advice please on buying a used planer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Just4Fun

Established Member
Reaction score
As a hand tool woodworker I know very little about power tools. I have seen an old 30cm wide planer for sale which is tempting as a way to eliminate some of the grunt work involved in preparing stock, but I don't know what to check before I buy.

Is planer even the correct term to use? It is not a thicknesser, it is the power tool used to get a good face and a square edge on a length of timber. Is this what some folk call a jointer?

I know nothing about the blades on such a tool. Are they proprietary to each brand? Is it possible/likely that the blades could be damaged and replacements not be available? Is sharpening the blades a DIY task?

The planer motor is 5kw so I assume that means it needs a 3-phase supply. This sounds like a powerful machine to me but I have nothing to compare it with. Is it OK?

What should I check on the machine before buying? How do I know if it is worth buying or a pile of scrap?

What question(s) should I be asking if I actually knew what I was talking about?

Do you have a model and brand?

Is it a planer, a thicknesses or a combi machine? The planer (American "Jointer") will have long(ish) beds, for flattening the first side and edge by cutting from below. The thicknesser (American "planer") will cut from above using the first face as the reference, and the combi will be both functions in a single machine, which may (dependant on the model) involve lifting the tables somehow or lowering the thicknesses bed to allow in the dust extraction hood.

Do you have three phase power? Some models have 2 motors, so using a vfd isn't so easy.