Advice on repair - G Plan Teak unit

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CaptainTed

Reaction score
Hello all, I’m new here so please be gentle!

Unfortunately our beloved G Plan sideboard has been damaged in transit due to a house move and has developed sever long cracks (roughly along the joint between the fascia edging and the main cabinet). It also now has a sizeable dent on the front.

Have attached some photos.

I’m keen to get your advice on how easily repairable is this, and what would be the best method for repairing these cracks? I’m keen to fix the dent too although the cracks are my biggest concern. I’m not a woodworking expert - far from it. Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• A78ED401-5FB6-4A0A-AC2B-5605E0DCE155.jpeg
    A78ED401-5FB6-4A0A-AC2B-5605E0DCE155.jpeg
    138.2 KB · Views: 97
  • 92657931-3C7B-48B5-BA0C-9FF85022ACF9.jpeg
    92657931-3C7B-48B5-BA0C-9FF85022ACF9.jpeg
    104.1 KB · Views: 100
  • A86EA419-591F-47B6-8D2E-418F9C1B9C50.jpeg
    A86EA419-591F-47B6-8D2E-418F9C1B9C50.jpeg
    128.9 KB · Views: 94
The dent is fairly easy to make much better (steam it). Those cracks… are they just along the edging or is there a big vertical one on the face? If the former they may glue up ok, what happened to make them?

If it was damaged by professional movers they should be insured. In which case find a furniture restorer and have them do it. I had similar a few years back.

The dent is fairly easy to make much better (steam it). Those cracks… are they just along the edging or is there a big vertical one on the face? If the former they may glue up ok, what happened to make them?

Thanks for the response.
I will look into the steam method.