Advice on cutting Beech Worktops

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hi Folks,

Wondered if any of you folks had any advice on cutting solid beech worktops?, I'm a reasonably good woodworker with a quite a well 'tooled' up workshop.

Q1. Is it better to just cut with a saw and finish with a No. 7 Plane (As a joiner advised me), or my idea of using a 1900 watt router with a good (Freud) cutter?

Q2. I don't want to buy a Worktop Jig for cutting the keyhole slots for the joining screws as their about £100, and obviously will only be used once. Has anybody ever made their own?, I was thinking of cutting a jig from 8mm ply on my fretsaw - what do you think?

Q3. I also have to cut for a Belfast Sink which is going into a corner - any general advice on doing this? again I was thinking of cutting a template from Ply.

Q4. The corner with the sink is going in at an angle, if you can imagine, I have to join the 2 long pieces of worktop with the corner piece . I'm guessing that the cutting angles on the worktops will be 67.5 degrees - i.e a 90 degree join would be 90 / 2 = 45 degrees. therefore I have to half that again i.e 45/2 = 22.5 + 45 = 67.5 degress.

Boy that's a lot of questions for a newbie, but if anyone can offer any advice I would be extremely grateful.

Regards

Morph

I recall giving this answer once before, as I do install these things occasionally for a living, so here we go: