Advice on a computer desk build

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

billpe

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm looking for some advice on building a computer desk. I'd like to make my own desk, which is purpose built to fit into my home office. No draws or anything fancy but it just needs to be something I build myself and function as a desk and not look terrible.

I've done a few searches, some research on designs and materials and still feel a little lost on how to proceed and I'm hoping someone here could give me some advice.

First off, I'm not an absolute beginner with wood working but have never done a project like this before. I've restored and renovated my own house (with help!) including restoring all the wooden floors and stair case but none of that involve actually making something with wood or MDF other than new floor boards (obviously not from MDF! :) ). I do have tools and a desire to learn though and enough money to spend on this to make a few mistakes but not money to burn, or I'd pay someone to do this for me!

Here is what I need and some other details:
I'd like the desk to fit into one side of a small room, with all three edges flush against the walls. 2 of the walls are concrete/supporting. 1 of the walls (a side wall) is plasterboard. In one corner there is a plywood/baton box which covers some central heating pipes up.
The space for this roughly 2400mm x 1200m. I'd like it all desk!
Its a desk so I need the centre to be clear to put my legs under.
It needs to be strong enough to take the weight of a pair of 7KG monitors, held on an single, centrally mounted stand, which attaches to the desk by way of a clamp. This causes some concern with MDF because I'm not sure the thickest 25mm MFD (I can find to buy) won't eventually break under that load.
It would be good if it wasn't permanently attached to the walls/floor.