Advice needed on tool selection for a new hobby workshop

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boxer

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone.

I am glad to say that after many years I have moved to a house where I can set up a small workshop and finally get round to fulfilling an ambition of doing some hobby cabinet making (ie chests of drawers, sideboards, entertainment units, boxes etc). I have a few years experience in bench engineering (ie metalworking) and some of the building trades but have limited knowledge on woodworking.

So at the moment I am trying to work out exactly what tools I need to get. Space and noise are going to be a bit of an issue. The workshop will be around 4 x 3 metres and is close to another house.

I have managed to get hold of a Triton workcentre & saw, plus a router and router table which i am hoping will be a reasonable starting point, especially as they dont take up much floor space. Not totally sure where I should go from here though......

The main question I have at the moment is can I get by without a powered planer / thicknesser ? It seems these are very popular but its a big investment and I wonder if I could work on developing my hand plane skills for squaring and dimensioning timber after the table saw ? I confess that I like the idea of using hand tools rather than adding more screaming machines but I dont know if it is really possible to use hand planes to get rough sawn hardwood squared up enough for decent cabinet work.

Apart from that I would just welcome any general advice and opinions on what people think I will need to set up my workshop.

Hi and welcom to the forum