Quantcast
  • We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Access speed

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

tim

Established Member
Joined
5 Nov 2004
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
0
Location
Herefordshire
The site seems to be getting pretty slow - certainly has seemed so in the last couple of days. Don't think its anything my end, other sites seem to be 'as normal'.

Not a criticism, just passing on info.

Cheers

T
 

Charley

Established Member
Joined
24 Aug 2002
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
6
Location
Collingham
Hi Tim,

I have to say I haven't noticed anything. The server seems to be running fine and with no load so I can only assume theres a problem with one of the connections between your computer and the server.

Can you do me a favour? Next time you notice it's slow can you please open Command Prompt/msdos in windows and type the following command and then let me know the results?


tracert ukworkshop.co.uk


That command will trace the route from your computer to the server UKW is hosted on.
 

Gill

Established Member
Joined
3 Sep 2003
Messages
3,537
Reaction score
0
Location
Lincs
I'm not experiencing any problems with the site either :).

Gill
 

MikeW

Established Member
Joined
15 Apr 2005
Messages
1,933
Reaction score
0
Location
Forest Grove, Oregon USA
Hey Charley, here's the hops from the US of A (Oregon). thought it would be fun to see...

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>tracert ukworkshop.co.uk

Tracing route to ukworkshop.co.uk [83.223.112.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 * * * Request timed out.
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 * * * Request timed out.
4 * * * Request timed out.
5 * * * Request timed out.
6 * * * Request timed out.
7 * * * Request timed out.
8 * * * Request timed out.
9 * * * Request timed out.
10 * * * Request timed out.
11 * * * Request timed out.
12 * * * Request timed out.
13 196 ms 186 ms 184 ms 83-223-112-170.as29017.net [83.223.112.170]

Trace complete.

C:\Documents and Settings\Mike>
 

Charley

Established Member
Joined
24 Aug 2002
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
6
Location
Collingham
Thanks Mike, that's good to know :) I get around 150ms from my AOL UK connection to my server in the US.

I get about 23ms to this server in the UK.
 

tim

Established Member
Joined
5 Nov 2004
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
0
Location
Herefordshire
FYI I am on dial up still (until they put the big fat pipes in in July) so maybe any changes are more noticeable to folk like me.

Cheers

T
 

DaveL

Established Member
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Messages
4,674
Reaction score
0
Location
Sudbury, Suffolk
Charley,

If I ping the site I get an average of 16ms, when I traceroute I get 14 hops, includeing my firewall box.

I have noticed the odd time that it seems to take sometime to resolve the name.

I am on BT ADSL.
 

trevtheturner

Established Member
Joined
26 Feb 2003
Messages
1,144
Reaction score
0
Location
Herefordshire, UK.
I don't understand about hops and pings, etc., but I have noticed the same as Tim recently. As I am still on dial-up, until broadband becomes available here - soon hopefully, perhaps therein does lie the answer.

No real problem - just gives me time to drink my coffee between opening up threads! :roll:

Cheers,

Trev.
 

Newbie_Neil

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2003
Messages
6,537
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottingham, England
Hi Trev

trevtheturner":1ilqli48 said:
No real problem - just gives me time to drink my coffee between opening up threads! :roll:
I have a complaint as my test averaged out at 9ms and that doesn't give you time to drink your coffee between threads. :lol:

Cheers
Neil
 

Newbie_Neil

Established Member
Joined
27 Jul 2003
Messages
6,537
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottingham, England
Hi Trev

The coffee and access times reminded me of last weekend when I was installing a new server for one of my largest customers.

They had had the previous one for about five years and during the period had tripled in size. It was now supporting the UK, e-commerce, retail, France, Germany, Canada and the US. In total about 75 users.

One of the users came up to me on Monday and said that they had decided to sue me as they now had to change their working practices. :shock: Previously they had been able to have a coffee/cigarette break when running certain jobs, but that opportunity was now lost as the new server just zipped through everything that was thrown at it. :lol:

Cheers
Neil
 

DaveL

Established Member
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Messages
4,674
Reaction score
0
Location
Sudbury, Suffolk
Newbie_Neil":13tj8loi said:
Previously they had been able to have a coffee/cigarette break when running certain jobs, but that opportunity was now lost as the new server just zipped through everything that was thrown at it. :lol:
Nice one Neil, if only all upgrades worked like that. ](*,)
 

trevtheturner

Established Member
Joined
26 Feb 2003
Messages
1,144
Reaction score
0
Location
Herefordshire, UK.
Hi Neil,

Hope you are both well.

:shock: Sue you for making them more efficient!

Is there no end to these computer problems. :roll: Not that you would want there to be, of course. :wink:

Cheers,

Trev.
 

Charley

Established Member
Joined
24 Aug 2002
Messages
2,072
Reaction score
6
Location
Collingham
Tim/Trev what ISP (NTL, BT, AOL,etc) have you got? and a Tracert would be very useful as I would like to know if it's a problem at Gyron or not.
 

tim

Established Member
Joined
5 Nov 2004
Messages
2,307
Reaction score
0
Location
Herefordshire
Charley":1dzxvrc5 said:
Tim/Trev what ISP (NTL, BT, AOL,etc) have you got? and a Tracert would be very useful as I would like to know if it's a problem at Gyron or not.
Aol but me no unnerstand the rest of your question - Tracert etc.

I'm pretty sure that I can speak for Trev on the second point as well.

BTW going to be busy for the rest of the day - apparently my wife has mistaken me for a JCB this weekend :shock: but let me know what to do and i shall do what i can to help.

Cheers

Tim
 

Alf

Established Member
Joined
22 Oct 2003
Messages
12,079
Reaction score
0
Location
Up the proverbial creek
Tim,

Open up a Command Prompt window (All Programs > Acessories > Command Prompt if you're using Windows XP like me) and type "tracert ukworkshop.co.uk", like this:



Hit return and you should get something like this:



Which is what I think Charley wants to know. And I hope that I've got that right, 'cos I'm no 'puter person... 8-[

Cheers, Alf
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
73
Location
Cotswolds UK
You tell fibs Alf, whats with the dos windows capture within XP if you don't know puters? :p :p

For what its worth Charley this is what I get on NTL Dial-up.
Tracing route to ukworkshop.co.uk [83.223.112.170]
over a maximum of 30 hops:
1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms smoothwall [192.168.0.1]
2 * * * Request timed out.
3 135 ms 129 ms 129 ms gb-bir-c-r2-ge60.inet.ntl.com [80.1.208.194]
4 143 ms 126 ms 129 ms gb-lth-c-r1-pos150.inet.ntl.com [80.1.209.109]
5 131 ms 129 ms 129 ms gb-lth-c-r2-pos00.inet.ntl.com [80.1.209.222]
6 129 ms 129 ms 129 ms gb-ldk-c-r1-pos150.inet.ntl.com [80.1.209.121]
7 127 ms 138 ms 129 ms pop-ic-1-ge-010-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.184.249]
8 195 ms 189 ms 129 ms pop-bb-a-ge-700-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.184.242]
9 133 ms 129 ms 129 ms win-bb-b-so-500-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.202]
10 131 ms 129 ms 129 ms bre-bb-a-so-100-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.185.197]
11 129 ms 129 ms 129 ms redb-ic-1-so-010-0.inet.ntl.com [62.253.188.106]
12 127 ms 139 ms 129 ms fe-0-2-0-999.cr1.sov.lon.uk.as29017.net [217.79.160.81]
13 135 ms 139 ms 129 ms 83-223-112-170.as29017.net [83.223.112.170]

Trace complete.

Edit: dumped picture.
 

Alf

Established Member
Joined
22 Oct 2003
Messages
12,079
Reaction score
0
Location
Up the proverbial creek
Beginner's luck? 8-[ Actually it's down to Signal's help in the past when I've had 'puter problems, as much as anything.

Cheers, Alf

P.S. DOS Windows capture? Blimey, is that what I done? Coo. Who'd have thunk it? :shock:
 
Top