• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

A Mini Cockpit Desk

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
Yes a Mini Cockpit Desk!!! what is that you ask? :) well one of my other hobbies is Flight Simming here is a pic of my present set up.

You can click on the pics for a better image.


Here is what I've started building


I might continue adding the progress here but just in case here is a link to my blog where you can follow the build http://lordnibbo.wordpress.com/category ... kpit-desk/

Oh! nearly forgot to say "Hello" It's just over a year since I last posted :)
 

Waka

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Joined
8 Mar 2004
Messages
4,490
Reaction score
7
Location
Weymouth
Welcome back LN. Looks like you have a nice challenge on your hands, keep us posted.
 

Chronosoft

Established Member
Joined
7 Nov 2003
Messages
82
Reaction score
0
Location
Doncaster
Are you simulating airbus with that setup, by the layout you prefer the right seat as opposed to captains. Be cheaper to get your ppl by the time your done with all that kit :D
 

bellringer

Established Member
Joined
16 Apr 2013
Messages
222
Reaction score
0
Location
Surrey
i have noticed some thing the screens on your current setup are dell and the ones on the drawing are acer are you changing them

and yes i have to much time on my hands
 

MMUK

Established Member
Joined
25 Sep 2013
Messages
2,597
Reaction score
0
Location
Great Barr, Birmingham
Nice :)

Quick PC question for you. How is your 4 monitor system set up? Do you have a dual output graphics card with splitters? Or is it a fancy 4 output card?
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
MMUK":2k4o1m5s said:
Nice :)

Quick PC question for you. How is your 4 monitor system set up? Do you have a dual output graphics card with splitters? Or is it a fancy 4 output card?
The video card running the four monitors is nvidia GeForce GTX 680. It has 2x DVI ports 1x HDMI port and 1x DisplayPort the three lower monitors use the DVI and the HDMI port the upper monitor uses the DisplayPort. The three monitors are 1920x1080 resolution each giving a resolution in total 5720x1080 and by the time you see it in the flight sim it's 6020 x 1080 that's what you might say is a rather wide wide screen. :) here is a pic in that resolution
but it's only 1/4 size :) toooo wide for the forum so here's a link http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5492/9167 ... 7069_k.jpg iit's what nvidia call screen surround spanning. :)
Sent from my iPad
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
Chronosoft":2d81imbr said:
Are you simulating airbus with that setup, by the layout you prefer the right seat as opposed to captains. Be cheaper to get your ppl by the time your done with all that kit :D
No! The joystick I use only comes right handed, I don't like yokes so it's a joystick or nothing. The throttles shown in the first pic on the left is only there to represent a saitek Cessna flight wheel. I am left handed but I have mastered the use of using a right handed joystick.

To answer the other question about the monitors I am using four Dell monitors, the Acers in the pic were downloaded from the Sketchup Warehouse libraries. :)
 

Oryxdesign

Established Member
Joined
30 Dec 2007
Messages
1,716
Reaction score
0
Location
Kent, UK
I've made a smilar desk with 6 monitors, I used mounts to hold the screens as I found they needed to overlap a bit. The mounts took a bit of setting up but they were inexpensive and solid enough.

http://youtu.be/V-bExxVuEgQ
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
Hi Paul :) Hi Waka :) Yes it's been a while since I saw you both :) I've been just too busy this summer for doing any woodwork because of my boating. Now winter is here I have a couple of projects to do, so I'll pop in and have a look to see what people are doing. :)
 

markturner

Established Member
Joined
11 Mar 2011
Messages
610
Reaction score
1
Location
London UK
Aaaah....a fellow virtual pilot! here is some shots of my setup:





What sims do you fly? I do Falcon 4 BMS, & FSX mostly. Some DCS as well, but not much time lately....

Cheers, Mark
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
markturner":jdg0s93f said:
Aaaah....a fellow virtual pilot! here is some shots of my setup:





What sims do you fly? I do Falcon 4 BMS, & FSX mostly. Some DCS as well, but not much time lately....

Cheers, Mark
:) All FSX, I did try XPlane10 but never got on with it, was toying with the idea of trying Prepar3D: Lockheed Martin but the chap who runs the web site FSXTimes has just bought the professional version (£200) and dosen't like it that much. So until something else appears I'll be sticking with FSX. :)
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
Biscuits cut and left hand plinth glue into place.
Adding the Left Plinth



Seven Biscuits cut in the rear rail, and not as easy as it looks because the centre three are not on the same level as the rest so extra care was needed to make sure they were correctly cut.
Adding the Rear Rail

Having to wait now a couple of hours before adding the front rail. :)
 

Gerry

Established Member
Joined
16 Apr 2007
Messages
276
Reaction score
33
Location
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
If your going to be spanning across the monitors and they are all the same model it might be worth removing them from their casing, making a custom housing and installing them edge to edge. That way you could end up with a join of only a couple of millimeters between them.

Gerry
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
No work done yesterday but today I started fitting the end panels, in this first pic you can see that I've marked out where to cut and clamped both end panels together to be sure they are exactly the same.


Cutting the biscuit slots for the left hand panel.


Left hand panel fixed and glued into position. Braced at the rear to support it until I have fitted the other end and added rails.
 

Lord Nibbo

Established Member
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Messages
2,576
Reaction score
0
Location
Near Looe, Cornwall.
A few more parts add.

The central divider and rear rail is fitted, here the right hand panel is fitted.



The desktop is fitted, sorry for the out of focus pic.



I've already started marking out the angled front panel to take all the instruments, tomorrow I'll cut it out.
 
Top